Five Blue Jays Earn Six Conference Awards, Team Sportsmanship Award

Romo Tabb
Romo Tabb

ST. LOUIS – Romo Tabb, Sean O'Brien, Jimmy Villalobos, Carter Wands and Tanner Cochran earned five St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletics Conference awards as voted on by the league's head coaches. The team also won the Team Sportsmanship award for the fourth year in a row.

"I am very proud of all of our guys that were recognized by the SLIAC basketball coaches," said Westminster Head Coach Matt Mitchell. "The fact that it comes from the coaches gives even more meaning to the awards."

Romo Tabb was named to the All-Conference first team. The first team bid is the first for Tabb after being named to the third team a season ago. Tab is the team-leader in points per game at 15.8, shooting 56.9% from the field and 38.8% from behind the arc. Tabb also pulled down 6.1 rebounds per game.

Sean O'Brien earned a spot on the third team, after being second on the team in points per game at 15.5. The junior center recorded 5.4 rebounds per game, while also notching the team's highest single-game scoring effort of the season with a 42-point display Jan. 25 at Greenville.

Three members of the team earned spots on the All-Defensive team, a testament to the squad's commitment to defense during the season. Westminster led the conference in fewest points allowed at 72.9 during conference play. The three players named to the All-Defensive team were Jimmy Villalobos, Carter Wands, and Tabb. Each player recorded over a steal per game.

Tanner Cochran was voted to the All-Sportsmanship team for his individual commitment to sportsmanship over the course of the season.

"I am also extremely pleased to have won the Sportsmanship award," said Mitchell. "It tells me that our guys play the game the right way. It speaks highly of their maturity."

Westminster finished the regular season 17-8 and 13-5 in the conference to enter the SLIAC Tournament as the No. 2 seed.